July 20, 2017

Reminder: Use of ASSIST for NIH Applications Required Now

Earlier this year, the Sponsored Projects Office and Campus Shared Services Research Administration agreed that all National Institutes of Health applications due after July 1, 2017 would be submitted using the NIH Application Submission System and Interface for Submission Tracking (ASSIST) instead of the Grants.gov system.

ASSIST allows for the identification of errors that could undermine the success of the application before submission to SPO.

This is a reminder that all NIH applications developed by Berkeley principal investigators now must be processed via ASSIST not Grants.gov.

Note: NIH proposals already in process as a Grants.gov application do not need to be modified.  However, after August 1, 2017, SPO will not accept any NIH application that was not processed using ASSIST.

July 11, 2017

Subrecipient Commitment Form for FDP Institutions

UC Berkeley is participating in a pilot program established by the Federal Demonstration Partnership (FDP) to test the efficacy and efficiency of using online organization profiles in lieu of subrecipient commitment forms to obtain information needed by pass-through entities when they are issuing subawards.

As a participant in this pilot program, UC Berkeley has agreed to use a modified subrecipient commitment form for subrecipients that are also participating in the FDP pilot.

To find out if a potential subrecipient is participating in the FDP pilot, Research Administrators should consult the master list of Participating Organizations on the FDP website and search for a specific institution.

Please note: Cohort 3 listed below has just been added to the list of participating institutions in the FDP pilot. Research Administrators still may submit the standard Subrecipient Commitment Form for any Cohort 3 institution that is “in progress” during this transition phase.

Cohort 3 (Added to the FDP Pilot July 7, 2017)
  • Ball State University (ERI)
  • Boston University (Charles River Campus)
  • Boston University (Medical Campus)
  • Bucknell University (ERI)
  • Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science (ERI)
  • Florida Atlantic University
  • Georgia Southern University Research and Service Foundation, Inc. (ERI)
  • Governors State University (ERI)
  • Loyola University, Chicago (ERI)
  • Michigan State University
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)
  • Saint Louis University
  • Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (ERI)
  • Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES)
  • Texas A&M University
  • Tufts Medical Center, Inc.
  • University of Arizona
  • University of California, San Diego
  • University of California, Santa Cruz
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of New Mexico
  • University of Oklahoma
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of South Florida
  • University of Southern California
  • University of Texas at Arlington
  • University of Texas Health Sciences Center, Houston
  • University of Virginia
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • West Virginia University
  • West Virginia University Research Corporation
  • Wright State University

August 18, 2016 Research Advocate: New Process for Some Subrecipients: UCB Participating in FDP Pilot